McCrory Sworn In

Print More

Governor-elect Pat McCrory was sworn in at noon Saturday in the old House Chambers at the Capitol Building.

More than 100 people gathered for the event, during with former Governor Bev Perdue officially transferred power to the new governor. The two, along with Associate Justice Paul Newby, participated in the ceremonial transferring of the state seal between governors.

Perdue told McCrory that with the seal she transferred to him, “the powers and duties as chief executive officer of the great state — the greatest state in America — and may God bless you in the months and years ahead as you and Ann serve North Carolina’s people as their governor and leader of this great state.”

As McCrory accepted the seal, he said, “I hereby promise to fulfill the duties of the governor of North Carolina and to fairly and justly use these powers entrusted to me to enable the people of North Carolina to be the very best they can be. May we all, working together, be a beacon of hope and progress for our nation, and of course to our great state.”

[media-credit name=”Gerry Broome” align=”aligncenter” width=”500″]McCrory_perdue_swearingin[/media-credit]

Chief Justice Sarah Parker administers the oath to Patrick Lloyd McCrory at 12:10 p.m. on two Bibles held by Ann McCrory — the McCrory family Bible and the George Durant 1599 Bible, which is known as North Carolina’s oldest book.

[media-credit name=”Gerry Broome” align=”aligncenter” width=”600″]McCrory_swearingin[/media-credit]

Those in attendance at the swearing-in included all seven members of the Supreme Court; incoming Lt. Gov. Dan Forest; State Treasurer Janet Cowell; Secretary of State Elaine Marshall; Attorney General Roy Cooper; Insurance Commissioner Wayne Goodwin; State Auditor Beth Wood; Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson; House Speaker Thom Tillis; Senate President Pro Tempore Phil Berger; and McCrory’s incoming Cabinet secretaries.

McCrory and his Cabinet then walked over to the old Senate chambers, where McCrory then watched as his eight Cabinet members were sworn into office.

Associate Justice Mark Martin then swore in some of McCrory’s top staff members, including deputy budget director Art Pope, general counsel Bob Stephens, chief of staff Thomas Stith and state personnel director Neal Alexander.


Comments are closed.