Prickett, Benton Running for School Board; Tedesco, Mitchell Yet to File

Print More

Four candidates have tossed their hats into the ring for three out of the four seats up for election on the Wake County school board.

On Oct. 8, voters will decide on representatives for Districts 1, 2, 7 and 9.

In District 7, Deborah Prickett, the Republican incumbent, will be running against newcomer Zora Felton.

Incumbent Democrat Tom Benton will be on the ballot for District 1. So far, no challenger has filed.

As of Tuesday morning, the incumbents for Districts 9 and 2 have yet to file.

Republican Bill Fletcher, who represents District 9, confirmed he plans to run.

“My focus is on academic rigor for all students… in all schools,” Fletcher wrote in an e-mail. “We have great teachers and a great supportive community. With focus and leadership, we can accomplish so much more with and for our students.”

His challenger for that seat will be Nancy Caggia, a Republican who is running on a non-partisan platform. Caggia filed Monday morning.

As of Tuesday morning, no one has filed to run for District 2, which includes Garner and Fuquay-Varina.

John Tedesco, the Republican incumbent representing District 2, has not filed. When reached, Tedesco said he is still deliberating with his family and expects to make an announcement next week.

“My family remains in thoughtful consideration and prayer at this time, finalizing our thoughts on the matter,” he said.

Tedesco has previously displayed political ambition, running in 2012 for state superintendent. He lost to incumbent June Atkinson.

This October’s election will be the Wake school board’s last before changing boundaries under the recently ratified Senate Bill 325.

School board members currently serve staggered four-year terms. Come 2016, the school board elections will move to even-numbered years. There will be no election in 2015, and the school board members elected this fall will serve shorter terms.

The Board of Elections updates the lists of candidates on its homepage on a daily basis.

Candidate filing ends at noon July 19.

Comments are closed.