Joe Bryan Elected County Commission Chair

Print More

Karen Tam

[media-credit name=”Karen Tam ” align=”alignright” width=”212″][/media-credit]Democrat Caroline Sullivan officially took her seat Monday next to Commissioner Betty Lou Ward for her first term as a Wake County Commissioner. Sullivan will represent District 4.

Sullivan takes over the role of Democratic Commissioner Erv Portman, who served one term on the board before running for a state senate seat this year. Sullivan edged out Republican challenger Dale Cooke for the seat.

This is Ward’s seventh oath of office after her first election to the board in 1988. She beat Republican challenger Paul Fitts for control of her seat. She represents District 6.

Ward was nominated to replace Republican Paul Coble as board chair, but lost to Republican Commissioner Joe Bryan in a 4 to 3 vote along party lines.

Democrat James West ran unopposed for his seat representing District 5 and was also sworn in for his first full term. He took over the seat after Harold Webb had to step down due to health reasons.

Republican Commissioner Phil Matthews will continue his responsibilities as vice-chair of the board. West was also nominated to the position, but lost in a 4 to 3 vote, also along party lines.

[media-credit name=”Karen Tam ” align=”aligncenter” width=”600″][/media-credit]

James West is sworn into his first full term as Wake County Commissioner.

Comments are closed.