Incumbents, Stagner Take Raleigh City Council

Print More

CORRECTION APPENDED: In the story below, Nancy McFarlane and Randy Stagner’s party affiliations were originally reported to be Democrat. They are both unaffiliated.

Raleigh voters went to the polls and voted to continue outgoing Mayor Charles Meeker’s legacy by reelecting every incumbent on the ticket and unaffiliated candidate Randy Stagner for the open District A seat.

Unaffiliated candidate Nancy McFarlane won the mayoral race by a healthy margin. Voters also approved both bonds on the ballot.

Weeks was appointed to the city council last year after District C councilor James West went to take over a seat on the county commission. Weeks won the election handily with more than 56 percent of the vote.

The crowded District C field had four other candidates. Racquel Williams came in second with 15 percent and Corey Branch had almost 13 percent of the vote.

In the District A race, Stagner took 58.9 percent of the vote.

In the at-large race, the two highest vote-getters take the two open seats. In this case, that was the two Democrats. Mary-Ann Baldwin took more than 40 percent of the vote and Stephenson 37 percent. Republican Paul Fitts got about 21 percent.

District B’s John Odom, District D’s Thomas Crowder and District E’s Bonner Gaylord ran unopposed.

The next city council will be:

Mayor Nancy McFarlane

At-large – Mary-Ann Baldwin

At-large – Russ Stephenson

District A – Randy Stagner

District B – John Odom

District C – Eugene Weeks

District D – Thomas Crowder

District E – Bonner Gaylord

2 thoughts on “Incumbents, Stagner Take Raleigh City Council

  1. Minor quibble, though strong supporters of Mayor Meeker and his work as mayor, both Nancy McFarlane and Randy Stagner are unaffiliated. The Democratic Party recognized their strengths as candidates and endorsed them.

  2. Thank you for pointing that out. We have appended a correction and apologize for the error.

    Charles C. Duncan Pardo
    Raleigh Public Record